University of Delaware Chemistry and Biochemistry Department

Faculty

Send Mail to Faculty:  

Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
University of Delaware Newark, DE 19716

General department number (302) 831-1247
Departmental FAX (302) 831-6335

University Directories

Jump to: [ABC] [DEF] [GHI] [JKL] [MNO] [PQR] [STU] [VWX] [YZ]

Mark Baillie, Assistant Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., Emory University
(302) 831-6729; Baillie@udel.edu

  Brian Bahnson, Professor, Biochemistry

Bahnson, Brian Professor, Biochemistry
Ph.D., Brown University
(302) 831-0786; bahnson@udel.edu

Thomas Beebe, Professor, Analytical Chemistry

Beebe, Thomas Professor, Analytical Chemistry
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
(302) 831-1888; beebe@udel.edu
 

  Bobev, Svilen Associate Professor, Inorganic Chemistry

Bobev, Svilen Associate Professor, Inorganic Chemistry
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
(302) 831-8720; bobev@udel.edu
 

Booksh, Karl Professor, Analytical Chemistry

Booksh, Karl Professor, Analytical Chemistry
Ph.D. University of Washington - Seattle
(302) 831-2561; kbooksh@udel.edu
 

  Brown, Steven Willis Harrington Professor, Analytical Chemistry

Brown, Steven Willis Harrington Professor, Analytical Chemistry
Ph.D., University of Washington
(302) 831-6861; sdb@udel.edu
 

Burmeister, John Alumni Distinguished Professor and Associate Chair, Inorganic Chemistry

Burmeister, John Alumni Distinguished Professor and Associate Chair, Inorganic Chemistry
Ph.D. Northwestern University
(302) 831-1130; jlburm@udel.edu
 

  Chen, Junghuei Associate Professor, Biochemistry

Chen, Junghuei Associate Professor, Biochemistry Ph.D. New York University
(302) 831-1035; junghuei@udel.edu
 

Doren, Douglas Professor and Associate Dean for the Natural Sciences College of Arts and Sciences, Physical Chemistry

Doren, Douglas Professor and Associate Dean for the Natural Sciences College of Arts and Sciences, Physical Chemistry Ph.D. Harvard University
(302) 831-1070 or (302) 831-2793; doren@udel.edu
 

  Dybowski, Cecil Professor, Physical Chemistry

Dybowski, Cecil Professor, Physical Chemistry Ph.D. University of Texas 
(302) 831-2726; dybowski@udel.edu
 

Jacqueline Fajardo, Assistant Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., University of Northern Colorado
(302) 831-2946; Jfajardo@udel.edu

  Dr. Fox, Joseph Professor Organic Chemistry

Fox, Joseph Professor, Organic Chemistry
Ph.D. Columbia University
(302) 831-0191; jmfox@udel.edu
 

 

Kimberly Graves, Assistant Professor of Instruction
Ph.D. Princeton University
(302) 831-2651; kgraves@udel.edu

  Grimes, Catherine Assistant Professor, Biochemistry Chemistry

Grimes, Catherine Assistant Professor, Biochemistry and Organic Chemistry 
Ph.D. Harvard University
(302) 831-2985; cgrimes@udel.edu

 

Groh, Susan Associate Professor, Chemistry Education

Groh, Susan Associate Professor, Chemistry Education 
Ph.D. Stanford University
(302) 831-2915; sgroh@udel.edu

  Gundlach, Lars Assistant Professor, Physical Chemistry and Physics

Gundlach, Lars Assistant Professor, Physical Chemistry and Physics 
Ph.D. Free University of Berlin
(302) 831-2331; larsg@udel.edu
 
 

Johnston, Murray Professor, Analytical Chemistry

Johnston, Murray Professor and Chair, Analytical Chemistry 
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin
(302) 831-8014; mvj@udel.edu
 

  Koh, John T. Organic Chemistry

Koh, John T. Organic Chemistry 
Ph.D. Columbia University
(302) 831-1947; johnkoh@udel.edu
 

Lyman, Edward Assistant Professor of Physics and Physical Chemistry

Lyman, Edward Assistant Professor of Physics and Physical Chemistry 
Ph.D. Virginia Polytechnic and State Institution
(302) 831-3519; elyman@udel.edu
 

  Munson, Burnaby Professor and C. Eugene Bennet Chair of Chemistry, Analytical and Physical Chemistry

Munson, Burnaby Professor and C. Eugene Bennet Chair of Chemistry, Analytical and Physical Chemistry 
Ph.D. University of Texas 
(302) 831-2917; bmunson@udel.edu
 

Neal, Sharon Associate Professor, Analytical Chemistry

Neal, Sharon Associate Professor, Analytical Chemistry 
Ph.D. Emory University 
(302) 831-0719; sneal@udel.edu
 

  Newberg, John Assistant Professor, Analytical Chemistry

Newberg, John Assistant Professor, Analytical Chemistry 
Ph.D. University of California, Irvine
(302) 831-7574; jnewberg@udel.edu
 
 

Patel, Sandeep Assistant Professor, Physical Chemistry

Patel, Sandeep Associate Professor, Physical Chemistry 
Ph.D. The Massachusetts Institute of Technology
(302) 831-6024; sapatel@udel.edu
 

  Polenova, Tatyana Professor, Physical Chemistry

Polenova, Tatyana Professor, Physical Chemistry 
Ph.D. Columbia University
(302) 831-1968; tpolenov@udel.edu
 

Ridge, Douglas Professor, Physical Chemistry

Ridge, Douglas Professor, Physical Chemistry
Ph.D. California Institute of Technology
(302) 831-1197; dougr@udel.edu

  Riordan, Charles G. Vice Provost for Graduate and Professional Education and Professor, Inorganic Chemistry

Riordan, Charles G. Vice Provost for Research and Professor, Inorganic Chemistry 
Ph.D. Texas A&M University
(302) 831-1073; riordan@udel.edu

Rosenthal, Joel Assistant Professor, Inorganic Chemistry

Rosenthal, Joel Assistant Professor, Inorganic Chemistry 
Ph.D.Massachusetts Institute of Technology
(302) 831-0716; joelr@udel.edu
 

  Rozovsky, Sharon Assistant Professor, Biochemistry

Rozovsky, Sharon Assistant Professor, Biochemistry 
Ph.D. Columbia University
(302) 831-7028; rozovsky@udel.edu
 
 

Scantlebury, Kate Professor, Science Education

Scantlebury, Kate Professor, Science Education 
Ph.D. Purdue University 
(302) 831-4546; kscantle@udel.edu
 

  Teplyakov, Andrew Professor, Physical Chemistry

Teplyakov, Andrew Professor, Physical Chemistry 
Ph.D. Columbia University
(302) 831-1969; andrewt@udel.edu
 

 

Theopold, Klaus Professor and Chair, Inorganic Chemistry

Theopold, Klaus Professor, Inorganic Chemistry
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley 
(302) 831-1546; theopold@udel.edu
 

  Thorpe, Colin Professor, Biochemistry

Thorpe, Colin Professor, Biochemistry
Ph.D. University of Kent at Canterbury
(302) 831-2689; cthorpe@udel.edu
 

Watson, Donald A. Assistant Professor, Organic Chemistry

Watson, Donald A. Assistant Professor, Organic Chemistry
Ph.D. University of California, Irvine 
(302) 831-8728; dawatson@udel.edu
 

  Watson, Mary P. Assistant Professor, Organic Chemistry

Watson, Mary P. Assistant Professor, Organic Chemistry
Ph.D. University of California, Irvine
(302) 831-1529; mpwatson@udel.edu

White, Harold Professor, Biochemistry

White, Harold Professor, Biochemistry
Ph.D. Brandeis University
(302) 831-2908; halwhite@udel.edu 

  Wingrave, James Assistant Professor, Physical Chemistry

Wingrave, James Assistant Professor, Physical Chemistry
Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin
(302) 831-1676; wingrave@udel.edu  
 

Zhuang, Zhihao Assistant Professor, Biochemistry

Zhuang, Zhihao Associate Professor, Biochemistry 
Ph.D. University of New Mexico
(302) 831-8940; zzhuang@udel.edu

  Zondlo, Neal Associate Professor, Organic Chemistry

Zondlo, Neal Associate Professor, Organic Chemistry
Ph.D. Yale University
(302) 831-0197; zondlo@udel.edu
 

 

 

     

Instructional Staff

The department instructional staff can be found in the departmental staff page under  the heading "Instruction."

 

Secondary Faculty Appointments

  1. Bai, Shi (Steve), (302) 831-8901, Bais@udel.edu, Associate Professor, NMR Spectroscopist, Ph.D., Brigham Young University
  2. Chatellier, Dana, (302) 831-8152, danac@udel.edu, Instructor, M.A., University of Delaware
  3. Yap, Glenn, (302) 831-4441, gpyap@udel.edu, Assistant Professor, X-ray Crystallographer, Ph.D., University of Hawaii at Manoa

 

Joint Faculty Appointments

  1. Duncan, Melinda (302) 831-0533, duncanm@udel.edu, Professor, Biological Sciences, Ph.D., The University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School and Rutgers the State University of New Jersey
  2. Green, Pamela (302) 831-6160, green@dbi.udel.edu, Crawford H Greenwalt Professor, Plant and Soil Science, Ph.D., State University of New York at Stony Brook
  3. Luther,George (302) 645-4208, luther@udel.edu, Maxwell P. and Mildred H. Harrington Professor of Marine Studies, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
  4. Opila, Bob (302) 831-3128, opila@udel.edu, Professor, Materials Science, Ph.D., University of Chicago
  5. Pochan, Darrin (302) 831-3569, pochan@udel.edu, Professor and Chair, Materials Science, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts
  6. Sparks, Donald (302) 831-8153, dlsparks@udel.edu, S Hallock duPont Professor, Plant & Soil Science, Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Universit
  7. Szalewicz, Kryszof (302) 831-6579, szalewic@udel.edu, Professor, Physics and Astronomy, Ph.D., University of Warsaw

 

Affiliated Faculty Appointments

  1. Bernstein, Peter, pbernst@udel.edu, Affiliated Professor, Ph.D., Columbia University
  2. Schneider, Joel, Affiliated Professor, Ph. D., Texas A&M University

Emeritus Faculty

  1. Brill, Thomas (302) 831-6079, brill@udel.edu, Professor Emeritus, Inorganic Chemistry, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
  2. Bulkowski, John, jbulkow@udel.edu, Associate Professor Emeritus
  3. Colman, Roberta, rfcolman@udel.edu, Harrington Professor Emeritus, Biochemistry, Ph.D., Radcliffe Graduate School Harvard University
  4. Dennis, Don, ddennis@udel.edu , Professor Emeritus, Biochemistry, Ph.D. Brandeis University
  5. Futrell, Jean, jeanfutrell@charter.net or Jean.Futrell@pnl.gov, Professor Emeritus, Analytical/Physical Chemistry, Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley
  6. Heck, Richard, 03267@udel.edu, Willis F. Harrington Emeritus Professor, Organic Chemistry, Ph.D., UCLA
  7. Jain, Mahendra, mkjain@udel.edu, Professor Emeritus, Biochemistry, Ph.D. Weizmann Institute, Rehovoth, Israel
  8. Trumbore, Conrad, conradt@udel.edu, Associate Professor Emeritus, Physical Chemistry, Ph.D., Penn State
  9. Wetlaufer, Donald, Professor Emeritus, Biochemistry, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
  10. Wood, Robert (302) 831-2941, rwood@udel.edu, Professor Emeritus, Physical Chemistry, Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley

Retired Faculty

  1. Evans, Dennis, evansd@purdue.edu, Professor, Analytical Chemistry, Ph.D., Harvard University
  2. Rheingold, Arnold, arheingold@ucsd.edu, Professor, Inorganic Chemistry, Ph.D., University of Maryland

[Top]